Student Nurse Laura

Orem – "creative effort of one human being to help another human being."

The NCLEX

Posted by Laura on July 6, 2011

My husband said I should blog about the NCLEX process – especially since this blog is all about the full 2 years of the ADN program, and it ends with this. It wouldn’t be fair not to account for the final big moment. My thoughts were “What if I failed, do I really want to tell the world?”

First, we learn in fourth semester, the process of applying to the BRN. Not really a difficult process. An application, your transcript request, getting your Livescan, photo….
You apply with all these papers before school ends. Yes, this means you need to pay the fingerprinting (Livescan) fee and the application to the BRN fee. It ends up around $225. I know, you don’t want to pay if you might not pass. There is also dealing with things like misdemeanors, traffic fines, or even having your fingerprints not pull up well (this was my problem – I blame it all on all the years of typing : )
They did approve my application, so I guess they figure they could pull me out of a line up. My mug shot looks like it would also be good for that! After a couple of weeks, I received a letter from the BRN saying they received my application, but were waiting on a few items from the school such as my transcript. Don’t worry if you don’t get this letter, many of my friends didn’t, but they were still able to get their ATT.

The next step is registering to take the NCLEX exam, getting your authorization to test (ATT) and scheduling your exam.

The California State University Bakersfield has a great pdf on the process of applying on their nursing site – I believe it is by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. It is called The Eight Steps of the NCLEX Examination Process. You can find this and more at the NCSBN.org site. The main thing you will find here is you must pay your $200 for registration with Pearson Vue, before you get your ATT. I know, this is a very expensive process – but you will be making your first paycheck before long : )

So I applied to Pearson Vue (because a friend told me to – thanks Brandi!), and I immediately received my ATT. Then there was a problem.   I could take my exam in 2 days, or wait a week and a half! Yikes.

more….(first I have to go for my walk – be right back!)

nclex part 2            nclex part 3           nclex part 4

I just have to say, if you need to re-take the nclex, it isn’t that big of a deal. You know the process now and what is required from you. Stress can do a lot of crazy things to you, but our life is long, and think of everything you have done to get here. This is just one more thing, and it will go well. Have confidence, be safe, and always do the right thing – you will go far : )

3 Responses to “The NCLEX”

  1. Kevin said

    The NCLEX application process is so different in each state! Some states do a good job of making it pain-free. Others not. In my state, Illinois, it was so confusing! My whole nursing class was lost and dumbfounded. I published a section on my NCLEX blog that covers about half the state’s application processes (so far) It started out just to help my class.

    I do have to say, though, that it is ALWAYS more money than you want to pay -.-

    Then I got the idea to list all the NCLEX Reviews out there. That’s what the main focus of my website is now. People can rate and review NCLEX Review programs. Sorry to be posting another link (I hope this is okay) but there is a company called CIC that helps with complex application processes (international nurses included.)

    Hope it helps you guys out with your applications!

  2. Olive said

    Thanks for the post! I’m 3 months away from graduating, so we’re just starting to learn about the nclex process. I’m nervous about it.

    I blog over at http://nursekittyspn.blogspot.com/ 🙂

  3. Anonymous said

    Oh Laura I an so happy for you. Congratulations! I was so happy to finish the story and with a happy ending. Good Luck with job hunting and finding that something you really would like to do. I am glad I got to be the first to comment on your blog about the NCLEX. XO Diane Procyk

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.