Student Nurse Laura

Orem – "creative effort of one human being to help another human being."

What does Psychotic mean?

Posted by Laura on August 29, 2010

The first time I was asked that, I thought in my little mind, that’s a bad slang word. Like calling someone fat, or stupid – a label. I grew up in a world where people would use it as a adjective to describe someone in a negative way. Of course my instructor (Psych) was standing there waiting for my answer and I couldn’t. Was I wrong? I pulled the word apart using the ‘ic’ – pertaining to. Then using the psych – that’s the mind/brain, right? So pertaining to the mind? Okay this wasn’t getting me there. Then I was thinking (while my inquirer was probably thinking – It’s so basic, why doesn’t she answer – catatonic?) perhaps if I use the word such as psychotropic….hmm psychosis…hmmm…

Then they started using the word to mean a break from reality and I wasn’t even sure that was right. So here I am trying to see my biasis and learn something.

From Tabers

Psychotic: Pert.to or affected by psychosis.

Psychosis: A mental disorder in which there is severe loss of contact with reality, evidenced by delusions, hallucinations, disorganized speech patterns, and bizarre or catatonic behavior.

Psyche: the mind and mental processes

ic: relating to

So basically – affected by a mental disorder in which there is severe loss of contact with reality, evidenced by delusions, hallucinations, disorganized speech patterns, and bizarre or catatonic behavior.

Or me – standing there doing nothing!

catatonic: stupor, inability to move or talk, studentnurselaura : )

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.