Student Nurse Laura

Orem – "creative effort of one human being to help another human being."

Questions of the Fetal Heart Monitor

Posted by Laura on February 4, 2010

Sticking with the OB theme here, I saw the article in the American Journal of Nursing questioning the use of fetal heart monitors or fetal oxygen monitors relating to reduction of cesarean and improved perinatal care.

Yesterday’s article at Off the Charts, brought me to this 2007 article. Personal experience with this situation does bias my position, but I am slow to disregard the importance of these measures. Isn’t it through evidence-based practice that this standard protocol has allowed health care personnel to understand interventions such as the effects of maternal positioning to enhance uteroplacental blood flow?

Quite often the seed of knowledge remains underground developing its resources until it is the right time to sprout. – my two cents.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.