Student Nurse Laura

Orem – "creative effort of one human being to help another human being."

EKG or ECG

Posted by Laura on January 25, 2010

I know it is originally the “elctrokardiogram” or EKG by Einthoven. As a new student in this health field, my physiology teacher taught us it is now called the ECG (Electrocardiogram).

I have browsed through a neon orange book called, Rapid Interpretation of EKG’s by Dale Dubin, MD. I say browsed because the first 4 chapters out of 10 where easy, relatively speaking. Then I got half-way through the 5th chapter. It has me bogging down.

According to Mr. Dubin, EKG stands up for tradition and uses this acronym in his book.

Well, today I am taking a “ECG” class. Basic ECG Course for Healthcare Providers. I’m hoping this will put me though my reading material, and I’ll try not to show my age by saying EKG 🙂

1/27/10

 – Dang, the instructor called it EKG also!  The class was good. By halfway through the second day of worksheets, my mind was tired. I think most of the class felt that way, as the volume of unrelated chatter increased every time he stepped out the door. It was a positive learning experience. I do have a better knowledge base of trying to read EKGs. I understand where the P wave comes from, and if it doesn’t – why. The shape of the P wave is one of the biggest clues, and helps you categorize the arrhythmia. Then using our rules, I should be able to make a good judgement. I really look forward to using some of this knowledge in my upcoming classes.

This looks like a good on-line site to reference http://www.nottingham.ac.uk/nursing/practice/resources/cardiology/function/sinus_arrhythmia.php

4 Responses to “EKG or ECG”

  1. Lori said

    FYI – I’ve heard that Thaler’s “The Only EKG Book You’ll Ever Need” is a bit better than the Dubin text (and the reviews on Amazon seem to back up what I’ve heard from cohorts ahead of mine).

  2. Eron Smith said

    The article is short, explains the EKG/ECG debate and it’s funny. What does EKG mean? How do you spell that word? OMG

  3. Laura said

    Doug Brandt’s article reminds me of myself at times. Thanks for sharing it.
    I’ve enjoyed the articles in the American Journal of Nursing (AJN). Our teachers use many of them as reference material for our courses.
    But, it’s an easy and fun read at “Off the Charts”.
    I’m glad you have this available on-line!
    http://ajnoffthecharts.wordpress.com/

  4. jm said

    In case this throws any light on the issue, at Off the Charts one of my former colleagues wrote this discussion of EKG vs. ECG a while back: http://ajnoffthecharts.wordpress.com/2009/08/13/%e2%80%9cekg%e2%80%9d-may-sound-right-but-it%e2%80%99s-not/
    It’s interesting, your mention of the origin of the term, which does provide a kind of justification of EKG, despite our different current spelling of electrocardiogram. -Jacob, blog editor at AJN’s Off the Charts

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.